CBR250 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, I am new on here. Have had my CBR250RR for few weeks now. I have similar story to most other guys who have encountered starting problems with their CBR250RRs. Anyway, as the story goes, bike used to start fine then one day did not start at all.
It cranks, but does not continue follow over.

Pulled apart petrol tank, petrol seems to drip away smoothly, don't think its battery, tried to push start no luck still and jump start with car battery, no luck either, pulled out my spark plugs, they looked rather dirty and smelt of petrol, wiped them clean and put them back in, still no start.
Whenever I try starting it, the exhaust backfires. I know I have flooded the engine with petrol.
What else can I do or check? Do you guys think it's the spark plugs or anything else?
I am a noob with bikes and don't know much so any suggestion will help.

This morning it finally started.. left it running for 10 mins then turned it off. Came back after 30mins and would not start again. I don't knw wat is wrong.

Thanks and have a good weekend.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the reply guys. Hrrm I decided to change the spark plugs as it's what was recommended from other CBR forums. The Carb seals were replaced and valve clearances done by the last owner, so I didn't think the Carbs was the problem.

The MC22 starts perfectly fine now! When I first took out the OLD spark plugs, it was black at the very end. It smelt and contained of petrol. I think with the little knowledge that I know about MC22s, that the spark plugs weren't getting any spark because of the petrol flooding it.

Now, that the NEW spark plugs are in, it starts first time every time.

MY ADVICE TO ANYONE WHO HAS A CBR250RR & HAS TROUBLE STARTING IT: