CBR250 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was just wondering correct me if i am wrong:
If an engine was running slightly lean with a normal octane say 91RON fuel could you tune it with a higher octane fuel say 95RON. Its just a thought i am no expert so go easy with me.

·
Registered
7,411 Posts
If your engine is running lean you should try tuning it by adjusting your pilot screws, the washers under your diaphragm needles and your main jets. If the intake system on your bike is stock however and your exhaust mods are equivalent to a slip-on or less, then you should really only need to turn your pilot screws out by a quarter turn at a time. Or use a colortune plug.

·
Registered
747 Posts
That colourtune is not great really. I bought one out of curiosity but its not really suited to the job. Its fine for tuning idle mixtures but tbh, you can do that just as well by listening to the engine. It can only be used to look at the mixtures on a free revving engine, you cant tune the engine under load with it so essentially your back to relying on the seat-of-the-pants method.

I know its pricey but a wideband O2 sensor and gauge is a much more accurate and if you set it up right it can be used on every bike you ever own essentially.

·
Registered
7,411 Posts
That's true. But for the average noob who hasn't got the knack for tuning by ear nor the justification to spend hundreds, its a cheap invaluable tool that's hard to cock up.

·
Registered
747 Posts
My point is though that even for the noob who doesnt want to dish out for a wideband, the colourtune is still next to useless for tuning as it willonly be good for tuning idle and off idle mixtures. You wont be able to use it to tune the top half of your rev range which is the most important in a 250.

On top of that, they are very awkward to use on the cbr because of clearance issues above the head of the engine.

·
Registered
1,816 Posts
Humbug said: